Aroha String Quartet & Rachel Vernon, Clarinet


Image 1[1]Rachel -Vernon -Aroha Quartet


Haihong Liu and Konstanze Artmann, violins;  Zhongxian Jin, Viola

with Rachel Vernon, Clarinet

Aroha String Quartet

Acclaimed as demonstrating “accomplished brilliance, soulfulness and sublime intensity in perfect balance and tonal unity” (The Dominion Post), the Aroha String Quartet is firmly established as one of New Zealand’s finest chamber music ensembles.

 Founded in 2004, this versatile Wellington-based quartet is known for its passionate musicality, impressive technique and multicultural innovation.

Haihong Liu and Zhongxian Jin are original members of the Aroha Quartet.  Robert Ibell joined the group in 2009 and Konstanze Artmann in late 2018.

 The Aroha Quartet performs regularly around NZ centres from the Deep South to the Far North.  In 2014 they performed five concerts are part of Chamber Music New Zealand’s Kaleidoscope series.  Overseas trips have seen them participate in the prestigious International Summer Academy in Austria in 2010, give concerts and masterclasses in China in 2010 and 2013, and perform at the Huntington Music Festival in Australia in 2011.

In 2018 the Aroha Quartet performed its Light and Dark  programme in thirteen centres around New Zealand.  In 2019 they covered seven centres with twelve concerts of their Metamorphoses and Unbound programmes.

The members of the Aroha Quartet are committed educators.  The Quartet runs the annual ASQ International Music Academy in Asia, an equivalent course in China.  They also undertake a variety of educational projects around New Zealand each year.

Venue & Date

The Monarch Room, Princes Gate Hotel, Rotorua
Monday, August 16, 2021 at 7:30 PM

This concert is presented in association with Chamber Music New Zealand